Update: recently stented man talks about himself for hours; weary crowd calls out for more wheelchairs

As I blogged about on Thursday, yesterday I spoke to a public meeting organized by MS Liberation, an Ottawa-based adocacy and action group fighting for treatment options for Ontario MS patients. I told of my experience in Poland getting a simple 25 minute procedure –routine angioplasty really –to unblock the veins in my neck and allow for proper circulation of blood through my MS-damaged brain. The simplicity of the procedure combined with its extremely short recovery time – one night in a hospital, and off you go to live your life – seemed to be the aspect of my experience that really struck a chord with the audience, most of whom were MS sufferers or family members of an MS sufferer.

Sandra Abma from CBC News was there and caught the mood of the room very well I thought. Click the image above; the story begins at 23.50 — you’ll need to click and drag the scroller until you get there.

2 Comments

Filed under Media, Post op

2 responses to “Update: recently stented man talks about himself for hours; weary crowd calls out for more wheelchairs

  1. Tariq Mahmud

    This news is very encouraging to hear. In order to help reduce the weakness in my limbs, I look forward to receiving the CCSVI treatment.

  2. Louise (Smith) Gibbs

    Hi Evan,

    I’m a second cousin to your wife Sylvia (her brother Bill forwarded your website to me). I was diagnosed with MS in 1998 and am planning to also get treatment for CCSVI.

    What improvements in your MS symptoms do you have since undergoing the treatment? Do you continue to improve?

    Did you go to Poland with the surgical tourism group out of B.C.?

    Thanks for having the website.

    Louise Gibbs
    mlgibbs@telusplanet.net

Leave a Reply

