Will you still love me if I’m not pathetic?

Duncan leaving Katowice: contemplating new pity-free lifestlyle?

The following is a guest post from my brother and fellow-Liberato, Duncan Thornton.

Two weeks after the procedure, I can say I certainly still have MS: I still have trouble pronouncing certain letters; I still have patches of numbness. But I didn’t want to be treated for CCSVI because I thought my MS would disappear; I wanted treatment because it seemed to offer a reasonable chance of keeping my MS from getting worse.

But for more than 20 years, my most troubling symptom has been cognitive and physical fatigue. Here’s what most days since I got back from Poland have been like:

  • Wake up, make coffee for Brenda, make breakfast for the kids
  • Do the sudoku and finish my coffee
  • Go to my office, get some work done
  • Make lunch for the kids, clean up.
  • Play with the kids
  • Get some more work done
  • Make supper, set the table, clean up after supper.
  • Go for a walk or something with the family
  • Put the kids to bed
  • Relax, do CCSVI email and web-stuff
  • Read a book for an hour
  • Go to bed.

Which is nothing special. It’s just a normal day for most people – but now it’s a normal day for me too.

So I did ask my wife if she will still love me if I’m not pathetic.

“It will take some getting used to,” she said.

11 Comments

Filed under Future thoughts, Guest post, Post op

11 responses to “Will you still love me if I’m not pathetic?

  1. Bridget

    Sounds like you have a lot of energy and are still mobile. I have to use a walker, cna’t life my right leg at all, may I ask what your pre-liberation symptons were? It seems Evan has documented his story more, or at least I’ve read more accounts of him, than you have. Please, I am curious, thank you,

    Bridget

  2. Ken

    Sounds like things are changing for you, that’s great, love your wife’s reply to the “if I’m no pathetic” question . can’t wait for this to be available in Candada…

  3. Ann

    I would say you’re kid’s are lucky to have a hands on dad. Often when people are able to run everyplace the kid’s don’t get quality time. Enjoy your normal days and hopefully they will get even better.

  4. LaVonne

    Sounds wonderful!

  5. I am curious about the procedure you had, did you have any ‘liberation’ on your neck?

    • prairiegirl

      “It will take some getting used to”… Ha! Great post, great humour– wish you many more normal days ahead!

  6. Good to hear that it worked! I was hoping…

  7. rosiep

    it sounds very encouraging but how mobile were you before this. Some of us are hoping for a reduction in symptoms but I don’t know if damaged myelin can repair once blood supply is improved.

    All very interested in hearing if there is any recovery overtime.

    thanks

  8. Pingback: Other recently stented man kiboshes, stands on chair « Arterial Excursions

  9. I wait that your healty grow up every day and you can look the difference and feel this, your family are soo great.

    God luck from Brazail!!!

    Milena

Leave a Reply

